The Neverending Story

I’ve never seen myself as a perfectionist but when i find myself
stumbling over a vision so grand I can’t help but want to make it as flawless as possible. Coming out of an “artistic funk”, if you will, I had a dream and in this dream an entire world was revealed to me in graphic detail. No matter what I do the visions in this dream have been burned into the inside of my retina. I have never seen a world like this before in my life, a world built from the influences in my life and yet a world unique in its own right. I’ve read my share of manga and watched my share of various films and television shows like any other story lover but I always felt that something was missing. Any skeptic or critic of a given article can say that something is or isn’t good or doesn’t meet their approval but I would much rather be the person criticized than the one criticizing. As a child I always wanted to create, at the time it was only comic books and cartoons but now my imagination has grown larger and I want to try my hand at being an author. Every good television show or creative work was created from a good script and that script was written by a talented author. The allure of being a best selling science fiction author grabbed me but I never knew how tough the job would prove to be. Being a sketch artist originally I found/find myself engulfed in illustrating the visions on paper instead of actual script development which was beginning to be quite detrimental to the creating process. For short terms at a time I actually had to force myself to focus on my writing but that is something I struggle with even to this day. I am proud to say that the first draft has already been completed but I am sad to report that the story is no where near completion.

I want to start again by saying that I am not a perfectionist but I love great storytelling. This book is only a small part of a much larger project but that’s what makes this one such a very important piece…..it’s the beginning. Everything that follows this book will constantly draw reference to it due to its format. This ongoing story of cataclysmic proportions has to keep the reader engaged as they continue through the series, each flip through the pages has to subtly remind you of those missing puzzle pieces that continue tore veal themselves and fill your mind’s blanks. Creating a formula for my writing style has been the toughest part of creating my own novel but I must say it is quite fun as well. As time consuming as it may be, each chapter that I complete I feel needs improvement or “resurfacing” if you will. With each edit the story becomes easier to read and the flow of events much clearer and that’s what I want. My greatest fear in this project is that the story will be much too complex for the reader and they will lose interest before they had the chance to get into the storyline. To prevent this fear from becoming a reality I have to create various drafts to ensure that it reads the way I would like it to but due to this knowledge this has become what I like to consider my very own “Never Ending Story”………smh

Leave a comment