Funerals…

I’ve never been a fan of funerals…I’ve never really known what to do with them. I can recall many times, even right now as I sit in my cousin’s ex wife’s funeral. While I feel nervous sitting in the sanctuary listening to smooth jazz renditions of gospel songs, some people mourn but most people laugh in an uncomfortable mixture of varying emotions that I could never quite understand. Everyone mourns in their own way but I always wonder how the parents of the deceased feel knowing that the people surrounding their child’s remains aren’t as sad as they are. With my fingers crossed on my lap I sit and patiently wait as kind words are spoken and tears are shed for a woman I never really knew. All I can do is pray for her family as they suffer through the loss of a child, may God be with you

Leave a Reply

